Screams

Sometimes, we all need that little reminder…


If there’s one thing I can tell you for certain about this world, it’s that you will not get very far on your own.

Though I’m someone who is fairly independant, it’s becoming increasingly evident to me that I can not, and should not, try to do it all on my own.

What is “it”, you may ask?

“It” is life.  Living.  Doing things like work, friendships, family, and love.

All of these things take other people, whether we like it or not.

I often wonder why God made it so we would have to rely on others, but then I end up smacking myself in the head when I realize that wasn’t it at all.

He has set it up so that we have nothing truly great to rely on besides Himself.

I wrestle with that.  I’ll admit it, I struggle with believing, living like, and convincing myself that God is really all that I need in this world.

Unfortunately even more so, I will sometimes find myself relying too much on people.  This isn’t to say that I think it’s a bad thing to rely on someone else; obviously if you read the beginning of this post, you’d see that’s not what I’m trying to say here at all. (Forgive the unwarranted defensiveness.  It’s late, and I’m tired.)

But when my relationships with other people become the center of my universe, it is the Creator of that universe that gets shoved aside.  How sad of a thought is that, that I would do such a thing to the One who loves me more than I can even imagine?

For me, I think the biggest reason is that I yearn so much to be loved.  Affection, whether it is of the physical nature (i.e. hugs, kisses, a pat on the back, high fives, etc.) or of the verbal nature (i.e. words of affirmation, encouragement, etc.), is how I tend to gauge my worth.  As a result, those things that are tangible to me, people, as opposed to the One I can not see with human eyes, have been my primary source of comfort and love.

Writing this out makes me realize more and more how tragically flawed I am.

I was created to find my sole joy and purpose in God, while everything else, including relationships and community, was just meant to be a bonus. But I instead search to quench my hunger in the icing, while I let the cake just sit in the open air, getting all stale and dry.  (Figure that analogy out and you win something special.)

I realize that I am making generalized statements here, and that there is immense value to be found in our earthly relationships.  But I have to keep reminding myself, and allowing myself to be reminded by others, that if all I hold dear to me were to crumble to pieces in one night, God would still be there to help me pick them up in the morning.

I can rest easy knowing this, and my prayer is that you can too.

Jar

Posted via web from That’s preposterous…

Standard

2 thoughts on “Sometimes, we all need that little reminder…

  1. matt stine says:

    But I instead search to quench my hunger in the icing, while I let the cake just sit in the open air, getting all stale and dry. (Figure that analogy out and you win something special.)

    The icing is referring to the bonus’ or perks that you spoke of like love, friendships, kisses etc…the cake is obviously God which is the foundation for and of the icing, and when you over induldge in the icing (people, friendhip, love) you let the other part, the cake (relationship with God), get stale….wheres my reward?

Leave a Reply

