Uncategorized

My first and probably last post on sex…


The apparent trendy, controversial topic in churches these days happens to be a simple yet complicated three letter word: sex.

I agree wholeheartedly that the Church has allowed culture and society to dictate what sex means to many people, including myself, and there is a definite need to redeem the idea of “getting down” to be considered as something amazingly spiritual and pleasurable between two married people.  I think it’s great that churches are now breaking taboo and speaking out on the wonders of physical intimacy.  If we could break apart our perceptions of this act of love from what we’re being told it is, there surely would be less heartache in marriages.  Of course, we must remember that sex itself should not be an end all goal in a marriage, but therein lies my point:

Do you think we’re starting to swing the pendulum too far in the opposite direction by focusing so much of our attention on an already culturally gluttonous topic?

In my opinion, I’m not entirely sure.  But I am starting to wonder.

Then again, this is coming from a 25 year old, unwed male.  The perspective might be a little skewed.

Standard

4 thoughts on “My first and probably last post on sex…

  1. I think a good reason too talk about sex in church is because we are a sexually gluttonous culture. You know if the Christians are into it and talking about it, the world will slowly back away…
    … I’m kidding, of course, but considering how sexual our culture is, it would be a mistake for the church to swing the opposite way, like it has in the past… and perhaps that is why we’ve become such a desensitized nation when it comes to sex and sexuality.

  2. Fantastic information in your post, I watched this report on tv last week about this same thing and since I am getting married next month and the timing couldn’t have been better! thanks for the post!

Leave a Reply

