Screams

Strugglin’…


There is a lot to be said for someone who can admit what their struggles are without motivation of looking better than they actually are.  Unfortunately, I do not always fall under that category.

I’ll admit what I’m doing wrong, but mostly because I KNOW that in my community, it makes me look more humble.  It has a way of invoking an impressed attitude in whoever may be listening to me.

Oh, wow.  He’s humble to admit that…

Ehh…

All pretense aside, here’s what I’ve been struggling with lately:

  • Getting things done.  Procrastination has been a lifelong practice for me.  There’s a reason why I’m 25 and still working on my undergrad.
  • Letting go of whatever the future may hold.  I worry a little too much, but even a little is too much; at least according to Scripture.
  • Shane Claiborne’s comment at a recent chapel on campus:

If you’ve got two coats, you’ve stolen one.

  • Staying in touch.  With friends.  With God.  With reality.

And yet…

34Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

Touche, Matthew 6:34.

Standard

4 thoughts on “Strugglin’…

  1. Somehow I stumbled across your blog. Good thing I did because this post really convicted me. Three out of the four things up there are exactly what I have been struggling with. The verse really blessed me, thank you!

  2. Eunice says:

    Cool blog you’ve got here. Are you on Twitter? It seems like you’d have interesting posts if you were.

  3. The ability to admit wrong doings without attempting to make things out to be different then they are or for the person admitting to do so without alternate motives is a rare character attribute indeed. Good stuff man.

  4. May I simply just say what a relief to uncover someone who
    truly knows what they are talking about over the internet. You actually
    know how to bring a problem to light and make it important.
    More and more people need to read this and understand this side of the story.

    I was surprised that you are not more popular since you surely have the gift.

Leave a Reply

