Screams

But do I really NEED that new iPhone?


Considering that my last post was about the iPhone 4S release, today’s entry is a somber antithesis.

I read an article by Eugene Cho, of One Day’s Wages on Relevant Magazine’s website about living simply.

While there’s really no new idea contained within the story, it was still a needed reminder to consider my possessions and how much they might actually possess me.

We have the tendency to get tired of our gadgets, possessions, and dare I say it, relationships, pretty quick once the shiny, new veneer has warn off, or once something (seemingly) better comes along.

As Cho says…

We want the bestest, the fastest, the  strongest, the mightiest, the largest, the mostest, the most horse powerful-est, the beautiful-est, the most blazing CPU processer-est and the list goes on and on.

I’m someone who eventually plans to get the new iPhone. (Actually, I’ve been thinking about it nonstop, so there’s no room for me to play it cool here.) I love technology. I love having the latest and the greatest. So with yesterday’s unveiling, OF COURSE this article comes my way the day after.

OF COURSE there would be rain on my happy-dance parade to remind me of how temporal everything I possess really is.

OF COURSE I would be asked to consider whether or not it’s something I really NEED, as opposed to just really WANT.

Now, there’s nothing wrong with wanting something, per se. I’m not implying that everyone reading this article needs to consider selling off everything they own and never buy anything new again. But what drives us to purchase the items that we do? What moral framework is at play within our minds and hearts when we’re out and about spending our money (and time)?

Ultimately, it’s a matter of the heart. For some, maybe selling off everything they own and living a highly minimalist lifestyle, like Cho, is paramount in their spiritual journey. For others, maybe the acquirement of certain gadgets and gizmos aplenty (a Little Mermaid reference there) is a means for them to serve those who might not be able to utilize and access such tools.

The important thing, as always, is to check your heart/motivations. What are your reasons, and are those reasons good enough? And if you decide to go forward in buying whatever you buy (which isn’t necessarily a bad thing), who really owns whom?

As for me, I still think I’m going to get the new iPhone. I’ve devised a nice little way to basically not have to pay a dime for it (no, I won’t be stealing it or doing anything illegal or nefarious), so it won’t hurt me financially. But of course, that could just be me trying to justify my actions; in which case, you can pray for me.

Standard

4 thoughts on “But do I really NEED that new iPhone?

  1. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get three e-mails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove me from that service? Thanks!

  2. Fantastic web site. Plenty of helpful info here. I’m sending it to some pals ans also sharing in delicious.
    And obviously, thanks to your sweat!

Leave a Reply

