Word a Day

Word a Day: Enervate


I’m a fan of speaking intelligently, and even eloquently. However, I often run into people who say something along the lines of, “Why people usin’ them big ol’ fancy words and whatnot?” The Word a Day project is where I attempt to do my part in eradicating that sort of mindset, in hopes that we can all grow our vocabularies and learn to express ourselves in more diverse and meaningful ways. Some of these are words I knew before starting this project, some are not. Let’s learn together.

Enervate – to cause (someone) to feel drained of energy or vitality; weaken

verb: enervate
3rd person present: enervates
past tense: enervated
past participle: enervated
gerund or present participle: enervating

There are a few people I know that have the tendency to make me feel as if I’d much rather have a buzzsaw work its way through my entrails than listen to them drone on and on. Perhaps reading my writing has a similar effect on you, but I doubt it; my writing is awesome and you probably have terrible taste, regardless. Anyway, when we find ourselves in those moments of wanting to get the hell out of whatever it is we are experiencing lest our entire lifeforce be sucked from our bodies, that’s a good example of what the word “enervate” is.

To have something enervate you is to feel a sense of draining and fatigue settle in; much like having to answer the incessant Facebook messages from your mom about what your day has been like, if it’s been a good day or a bad day, and what you have going on tomorrow (Hey, Mom!).

Can you use it in a sentence, please?

“Ugh, Jared. Seeing you do so many push ups is both sexy and enervating at the same time.”

Do people actually use this word anymore?

20131112-144323.jpg

No, but they should.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Word a Day: Enervate

  1. Pingback: Word a Day: Brevity | I'm Jared Murray

Leave a Reply

